July 7, 2014

>
> This week was a pretty crazy one! I only worked half of the week though, explain that in a sec.
>
> First off, my 4th of July was good i guess. Haha i actually didn’t really have one. There wasn’t really anyway to celebrate, but i did do one thing. I bought a big Captain America piñata and put my name tag on it, so that was pretty cool. I hope you guys had fun though. 🙂
>
> This week was kind of a plain week. My shoes I have used for 11 months passed away. they acquired two huge holes on the bottom, and so now i am onto another pair. These should last me the rest of my mission.
>
> We only had 3 people in church this week and that was pretty disappointing. On the bright side, we still have 3 dates and have a baptism of a teenage named O. on Sunday. O. is a 16 year old stud. His dad still wants to be baptized but we are waiting to get him married with his ”partner of life”.
>
> We are visiting a guy named M. He has been to church a ton of times and likes everything about it, and hates every other church there is. He is still waiting to be baptized though because he says that he isn’t ready to be baptized yet. Sometimes it is hard to help people understand repentance. Mauricio isn’t the first, a lot of people here really understand baptism. They understand it is a big promise and commitment we make to the Lord. But when they don’t understand repentance, they get nervous. M. doesn’t want to get baptized yet because he knows he is going to sin again and doesn’t want to offend God or break the covenant. We try explaining to him that this is why Christ came to the earth is so that we could repent, but he doesn’t get it. We just have to keep trying to get the message across in different ways. Tonight we are going to share the Lamb of God video with him and hope it does the trick. We hope to baptize him the last week of this month or the first week of August.
>
> The earthquake this morning was pretty cool. I guess it was a 6.9 from Guate. I woke up at 5:30 shaking kind of violently in my bed, it lasted about 20 seconds.
>
> About half way through the work day on Friday, all of Saturday, and all of Sunday (except for church) we were inside of the house. My comp had been feeling a little sick and so we went to get some tests done for him. We also went with the 2 zone leaders that live with us. Turns out they all have parasites and one has E Coli. I haven’t felt sick or anything, but am being super cautious so i don’t have living creatures eating my insides. We decided it would be really weird to be pregnant and have to pretend to love that thing creeping and crawling in your stomach for 9 months. Hopefully we are able to leave today though. 5 of the 6 elders in my district have parasites. I don’t know what i did to avoid them.
>
> Anyways, that is it for this week. I am learning more everyday and am trying my best to help people accept the gospel. I love being a missionary, and love using my birthday as an excuse to receive candy, snacks, drinks, and meals this week from members and other missionaries. Here is to a successful Saturday!
>
> Elder Slack

Leave a Reply

