July 21, 2014

Hey! Can’t believe another week has come and gone. I officially have 11 months in the mission! I have 12 months and 2 weeks left to help as many people as i can. The mission has been unbelievably fast. Excited to try and do some big things in this time i have left! I still have a lot to learn. 

 
So this week was pretty good. We work really well with members in this area. We almost always visit with this one sister that is preparing to go on a mission. She goes to Chile on November 19, her brother goes to Columbia, and her sister goes to Ecuador ALL ON THE SAME DAY. I can’t even begin to imagine how hard it is going to be for their family. But they were really excited to receive and open their calls yesterday. They will be good missionaries. 
 
We were able to baptize Francisca yesterday! Omar didnt go to church again, his mom is the problem of it all. But the baptism of Francisca was really smooth and everything went really well. She will be a good member of the church. I hope her and her husband (Patrociono that we baptized last month) can get sealed in the temple next July. 
 
Yesterday we brought 7 people to church which is pretty dang good. We brought 2 new people and hope to put a baptismal date with one of them on Thurdsday. 
 
Thursday my zone leaders got a call from the assistants saying i would train this next change, and so i had to wake up at 4 oclock on Friday morning to head to Santa Ana for a meeting that started at 730. I was dead tired but it was good and i learned a bit. I am pumped to train again! There are 6 americans training this change, and 4 will have American comps! There is a new guy coming in from South Jordan, it would be kind of cool to train him. We’ll see who i get! I am really happy though because i get to changes and hear all my buddies give their final testimonies before going home! Bummed my buddy Elder Draper is going home, but he is excited and I know his family has been excited for quite a while as well haha.
 
Other than that, not much is new! I am still working hard and trying to be the best missionary i can be. I still am way too hard on myself, but that is just how i am. 
 
One of the things i have learned the most in the mission is patience! As a missionary, you have to do everything you can to always have the spirit! This means patience with comps and investigators. I have become a pretty patient guy, that is what my dad wanted haha. There is only one thing i am not very patient with, and something i am not going to ever be patient with. The thing that bugs me the most in the mission is when one person wants to get baptized but lacks a marriage. You have 19 years together, 4 kids, and you tell me ”the moment hasnt arrived yet”? Are you kidding me? So many people say that ”the moment hasnt arrived yet” and they refuse to get married, even after i tell them that i will personally call the lawyer, set the date, and pay the lawyer for the wedding. 1 Corinthions 7:9 says it best and i try to make sure that the investigators understand it. I have been told I talk a little too bluntly and a little too hard against those that fornicate, but i dont care. 
 
One suggestion i have for people preparing for missions is try to throw in the temple into your lessons! Talk about how the family can be eternal and people start to naturally keep committments and grow interest in the church. 
 
I know the church is true because it is the only church that has all the teachings from Christ. It has 1 prophet and 12 apostles vivientes and that is how we can learn the will of the Lord. 
 
The mission really is awesome. I learned a lot from being comps with Elder Leiva and think he will be a good missionary in the future. 
 
Hope you guys have a good week! 
 
Elder Slack
Leave a Reply

