November 17, 2014

Kind of a frustrating week again. This chikungunya sickness knocked out like half of our investigators, so we had another disappointing Sunday. We’ll do better this week at stake conference though.

It was a pretty eventful week though.

For like the 30th time in my mission, i felt another earthquake. Everything shakes for about 5 or 10 seconds and then it stops. we’ve had quite a few the fast 3 weeks or so, I swear we have 1 or 2 a week.

I have done 6 baptismal interviews in the past week and also put 3 baptismal dates, but none of those dates were put in my area. Oh well, same team, right?

I conducted a baptism Friday morning, taught 40 people in Sunday School yesterday, and gave a talk in another baptism about enduring to the end. I would say the worst of the 3 was the lesson i had to teach in Sunday school. I was siting outside of the class all our investigators go to and this guy comes over and asks me to do something, so i naturally say yes without thinking. He then hands me the teaching manual and tells me i have to teach this 30 minute lesson, in 30 seconds. Talk about stress. I look at the title of the lesson and was stumped and looked down to see that it was a story from the Old Testament. Oh man. The Old Testament. We started out reading Ezekial 43:1-12 and then i saw it was talking about temples, so we talked a little bit about those verses and I decided it would be a better lesson if i just shut the book and had an open discussion. So that’s what we did. I think it went pretty well… miraculously.

I live with the zone leaders, and Thursday at like 6:10 I am woken up to loud laughter from their room. I ignored it until 6:30, but when they were still laughing, i went to see what happened. Elder Flores, from Honduras. had red marks all over his arm, was burning hot, and had a lot of pain in his body to the point where he was laughing haha. He had a 103 degree temperature. Turns out he has chinkungunya. Any mosquito that bites him the next 30 days will carry the disease, so i am a little nervous. He is still doing pretty bad and cant leave to work for quite a while.

This week i saw some taquazines, a gigantic armadillo, a long corral snake (right in front of my house), a huge tarantula, and had a good sized scorpion climbing up my arm. Haha some cool things you can’t experience in West Jordan.

still happy, sweating, and working hard. thanks for all the support.

Elder Slack

Leave a Reply

