January 5, 2015

This past week was another pretty decent week here in Nahuizalco. This morning the assistants told us that I would be having changes on Wednesday, so after 7.5 months here, it looks like my reign of Nahuizalco has come to an end. I had a great time here and learned a lot of things along the way. I was able to train my first 3 kids of the mission and finally a district leader. I also was really blessed with baptisms and was able to reactive quite a few people during my time here. Up to this point, it has been my favorite area in the mission.
We had quite a bit of fun celebrating the New Years. We stayed up a little late, about 12:30 or so, watching 17 Miracles, talking deep church doctrine, and cleaning the house. Man, I don’t know what they’re going to do when I am gone because no one else in the house cleans except for me haha. But yeah, New Years was cool. We heard a countdown at midnight and then celebrated, the four of us. I think the lack of physical contact with any female has gotten to some of the missionaries in the house which resulted in a high number of hugs haha.
We were able to go to Tazumal too, a Mayans ruins, but it wasnt really as cool as i thought it was going to be. Buck we were still able to take quite a few pictures.
I was able to talk with a family that i baptized in May and they are still pretty solid in the church. They’ve put a goal to be sealed the last week of May 🙂 I’m really excited for them! One of the families I baptized here in August is also planning to be sealed in August, but I’m nervous it is going to happen just after I go home. Really happy to be apart of something so big and special though, that’s what it’s all about. We were reading the Book of Mormon with some new converts yesterday and a couple of verses stood out to me. We read Alma 29, and verses 9 and 10 really made me reflect on my mission and the things i have been able to accomplish. I have a good friend finishing up his mission this week. He had a few rough experiences to start out the mission, but is a stud now. He’s one of my best friends in the mission and Ive learned a ton from him. I’m hoping that in August when it’s my turn, some missionary can think the same about me.
Have a good week! We’ll see where I get sent! A donde me mandes ire, señor
Elder Slack
Leave a Reply

