April 13, 2015

I am running out of ways to start out emails and I feel awkward every time i try to think of something new, so i’m just going to start off haha.
Last week was a pretty good one, it was a really quick week. On Thursday we had a leadership meeting in Santa Ana and talked about the importance of prayer and fasting. It was good and I learned quite a bit. We talked a lot about if our investigators know that prayer is literally communicating with God. We always teach them how to pray but dont do a very good job at explaining why we do it and what principles are behind it and all. I’ve been trying to do better on my prayers but it’s not always easy haha. I swear my nightly prayers are terrible. Im just really tired and half of the time end up falling asleep in the middle of it. I think it’s pretty common though, i mean if there is a missionary that says they havent done that, they are lying or arent working very hard.
This Saturday we will be baptizing Elena. I’m pretty pumped to have another baptism even though she is just a little girl. We should be able to put a date as well for her mom this weekend, so it should be a pretty solid one.
The work here is progressing, but slowly. The ward i am in isnt too motivated to work, but we’re doing what we can. I can’t really complain because it won’t get me anywhere, just gotta roll with the punches. The area is pretty small, just because we cant enter in to a lot of areas. I’d say around 70% of our area is restricted, so it’s pretty limited to find news and everything, and there are 2 companionship’s. We’ll see what happens.

We have met a few positive news that want to progress, we just need to get them to church. We met (on the phone) with a guy named Ernesto who seems really positive who is the friend of a member. Unfortunately we havent been able to teach him yet because of baptisms in the zone and leadership meetings and stuff, and we cant go where he lives anytime after 5 oclock.
Armando still is the same. He wants to get baptized but because his wife isnt receiving money from her family to leave yet, we are stuck waiting to baptize him.
I’ve gained a new attribute i am pretty pumped about. We had a few weird situations in the zone this past weekend and some people were getting mad at others, but a couple of us were able to look at it from the perspective of everyone. We ended up fixing the problem without too much frustration. I’ve always been a big fan of simplicity… no need to complicate a situation.
Last week at the leadership meeting i was able to hang out with Elder Bauserman. I love that guy. It was probably the last time i see him until changes meeting when he goes home. Man, i’m gonna miss him.
This Thursday we will be going to the temple as a zone at around 530 in the morning and i cant wait! it’ll be my last trip to the temple here in El Salvador so I’m excited. it’ll be nice going in English again though.
This past week i was also to eat a few things you don’t really eat a lot in Utah. Oranges i picked off a tree, coconuts i drank and ate after opening it with a machete, salting mango’s that i pull of the tree in my yard. It is cool to get a little more variety of stuff here, not even just that, but to also be able to say ”i am drinking a coconut i knocked off the tree and chopped open with a machete.”
Overall, things are going good here. We have the goal as a mission that every companionship baptized 2 people every change, so that’s something we are really working on as a zone. I’m still liking me time with Elder Flores and am getting a little bummed that all my friends are going home, both friends in the mission and friends at home, but whatever. Im loving the time here and always working hard.
Elder Nate Slack
Leave a Reply

