April 20, 2015

Man this week was a really crazy one. We started out on Monday getting a call from the assistants telling us that we would begin working in another area the next day. We would assist the same chapel and live in the same house but be in a different ward. The area we were in had slowly been closing more and more and so it didnt make a lot of sense having 4 missionaries in a smallish area when there was an area right next to it that was a lot bigger and only had 2 missionaries. So on Tuesday we began to open up the area Chalchuapa 2. This meant we had to look for a ton of news obviously, and we did pretty good. We worked pretty well with the members and have gained the confidence of them which has helped us more than anything. But it’s my second time opening up an area, so we’ll see how it goes!

My new area includes Tazumal, the ancient Mayan Ruins. It was cool because we were right next to the entrance teaching some people about the Book of Mormon and how it was written by the same people who made Tazumal. It’s not something you get to do in most of the world, so that was really cool.

The past 2 weeks I have seen a ton of US military helicopters, like black hawks and Apaches. I know they are from the states because i had seen them every day for 18 years haha. It brings back memories seeing them and hearing them fly over head.

The temple trip last week was really good! It’s always cool to go there. I was walking in and was able to see a good friend I made while i was living with the ZL in Turin! Turns out she is a temple worker. It was my last time there so i tried to enjoy the peace and designs and stuff. It’s cool how each temple is different and adjusts to the different parts of the world that they are in.

The rain has also started, which means we now have to bag our scriptures daily and everything. Not a huge fan of big rain storms, but i’m trying to enjoy it the best i can. Especially the lightning and thunder storms. Those are awesome!

So on Friday my companion had set a lunch appointment with a really poor member and in our new area. We had to run a ton of errands in the morning to help out another zone have papers to marry and baptize a family the next day, so we were tired and thirsty. Well, she pours us some juice and i naturally begin chugging it because i am thirsty. It was made of some weird fruit i had never heard of before, but i didnt care. They always leave little chunks of the fruit floating on top of the juice, so as you are drinking, you are also eating the fruit. I noticed i had some seeds so i took them out of my mouth and realized my comp was signaling at me to stop drinking the juice. I did and he began pointing at his cup. He then begins pulling out maggot… after maggot… after maggot. He explained that this kind of fruit always has maggots. I look into my cup and see the same thing under all the fruit chunks. I had to have eaten at like 5-10 of those gross worms. I lost my appetite and didnt really want to have lunch but had to eat it because she has no money but prepared spaghetti and rice for us. Leaving the house, my comp began puking on the street, but man, I hope i never have to relive something like that again. That was definitely a first.

On the bright side, we were able to baptize a little girl. There were a lot of complications but she was finally able to do it. We just realized there may have been something that may cause need for us to rebaptize her this week, but we will see. She has a HUGE fear of water, i guess it’s more of a phobia. We tried to baptize her on Saturday and she couldnt do it, but on Sunday after trying for a solid hour, we were able to do it. But I’m 50/50 on whether or not we will have to do it again this week.

Everything overall is going well! Hoping for another good week, always enjoying my time here in El Salvador, and always working hard!

Elder Nate Slack

Leave a Reply

