April 27, 2015

I asked Nate why the baptism might not work from his letter last week and this was the response:

and the baptism for that little girl doesn’t count. she was TERRIFIED of the water and freaked out every time my comp touched her in the font. he said the prayer behind her and we had her go all the way down in the water by herself because she wouldn’t let my comp baptize her like normal. we struggled there for a total of like 4 hours between two days. she finally went all the way under, but because a priesthood holder never touched her, the baptism isn’t valid. we are just going to baptize her in a few years when she is more mature. she is 12 but really immature for her age. bummed, but i guess it is for the best.

This week was another pretty good one! We’re working really good in my area so I’m having fun right now.

Last week we had interviews with President Spjut. He ended up talking to me for like 40 minutes and then talked to my comp and I for another hour. We just talked about some of the rules in the missionary hand book that a lot of people don’t keep. He had me read page 8 which talks about language and then asks, Elder Slack, do you feel that you are keeping these rules? Obviously I got really nervous and thought about everything I had said from the moment I was born. I told him I felt i was keeping the rule and then he talked about using slang and stuff. I guess I was guilty after all haha. It’s just hard sometimes because the ”slang” they use here are just every day words. He then asked me to read page 11 which talked about dressing. He asked if i felt i was keeping those rules. He said he likes it when missionaries dress traditionally. At that moment, I looked down at my black pants and gray suit jacket and said i guess i could start by wearing the same color of pants and jacket, haha, we both laughed. He asked if i had brought the pants i was wearing from home. I said yes and then he asked if i had adjusted them in any way here in the mission. Again, i was guilty saying yes, i had made them a little skinnier. He asked why and i said i dont know, everyone was doing it. Not with those words, but it was something along those lines haha. He was upset or anything, he just wanted to know why the entire mission is doing it. Overall, it was a good experience.

This week was loaded with interchanges. It is cool to go to other areas but i feel a lot of pressure and feel like i have to do everything perfect because that’s what i felt my zone leaders had done earlier in my mission in my areas. But it’s always cool to know the leaders of the wards and everything, plus to help the missionaries if they have things they struggle with.

In my area this past week we did really well. We have been working really really well with the members and have been receiving a ton of references. We began contacting references of family members of members that had been visited by missionaries quite a few times, but there had been no progress with them. Well, we were able to bring 3 of them to church yesterday and 2 others that are progressing towards baptism. We are teaching one girl who is 22 years old who has a boyfriend who we are reactivating who is also 22. He was excited to start going back to church after being inactive 7 years because they want to be sealed in the temple. Well, the members have been working a little too good with her because now she is wanted to serve a mission before being sealed, haha her poor boyfriend is pretty disappointed. She has a baptism goal for the 10th of May and I’m sure she’ll be baptized that day and I’d be willing to bet she also serves a mission. She is one of those people who were ready for the gospel.

This past week i was reading the Liahona and it was talking about knowing the difference between weakness and sin. That’s something a lot of people don’t really understand. Everyone here says well, i’m not perfect and god understands, but it’s not like that. In Ether 12:27, Jacob 4:7 we learn that we have weaknesses to help make us stronger. It is only by faith in Christ that helps us overcome the weaknesses we have. A lot also has to do with the grace of god. Even when we do our best, we always will fall short. 2 Nephi 25:23 I think it is that says that we will be saved by the grace of God after doing all we can do, which also hints to faith in Christ and repentance. To have faith in Christ isn’t just so we have a strong testimony, but also so that we are able to overcome weaknesses and also receive grace and forgiveness from God. There is no better way to strengthen the faith someone has in Christ than by serving a full time mission. I’ve been thinking a little bit this past week about all the blessing one receives on their mission with all my friends going home. The experience and growth people have in their mission can’t be made up for at any other time in your life. The mission for me has been pretty tough but it’s been really good. Like most things, it’s had it’s high points and low points, but I wouldn’t change the experiences I’ve had here in the mission for anything. Anyone who chooses to not serve a mission will always be 2 steps behind where they could’ve been had they served.

Elder Nate Slack

Leave a Reply

