August 3, 2015

              I did it man! It was hard, but I did it!

              Friday in my exit interview President said, on behalf of the Lord and the First Presidency of the Church who called you to this assignment we thank you for your dedicated service and want you to know you will be returning home with honor. Awesome man. So pumped.

 Last letter:

Well, can’t believe it, but this is the end of the dynasty. It’s been a great run and I’m really glad i made the decision when i was young to come out here on a mission. I can honestly say I did all i could these past couple years and have no regrets of things I did or didn’t do. I’m returning home happy with the work I did here, and sad for having to leave the people and country. I’ve really grown to love both.

On Saturday we were able to baptize Kevin Ríos, a 16 year old kid that had a baptismal date last year. It was a good baptismal service and I was really excited when he asked me to perform the ordinance. The 2-year sacrifice is worth it when you can see the people you visit change. More than anything, that’s what I am going to miss. Watching people change.

As we share the gospel with others and see them make changes in their life to be able to feel the spirit constantly and also receive forgiveness for their sins by being baptized is crazy. This brings us one of the greatest joys we can feel, just by knowing that we are an instrument in the hands of the Lord.

I’ve been able to feel that same joy and energy for the past 2 years. There are always ups and downs, but seeing people change and come unto Christ as a result of my service is what it’s all about.

I’m grateful for the atonement of Christ and know that through that, we can receive complete forgiveness of our sins. It can carry us through any challenge or obstacle we face. It gives us hope when everything seems to be going against us. It can make us feel loved when we feel alone. It’s also the best motivator we have.

Thanks for all the support you all gave me these past couple years, I’ll see you all this week!

Elder Slack

Leave a Reply

